I have now had some success with my first blog, but now comes the real test:  will it continue to work, and will anyone be reading and commenting??

What I have in mind is an exchange of thoughts regarding John D. MacDonald: his life, his books, his insights, etc. No matter how some of us long-time readers may feel there’s always room for new interpretations, new ideas, and new “takes” on MacDonald.

There are still fans out there, and pleasantly surprising, some new young readers (watched a couple of You Tube type videos of two such youngsters, and while sophistication is lacking, the obvious appeal of Travis to the adventure-some spirit of these young lads is unmistakably there.

I am able to be in contact with JDM’s son, Maynard, who lives in New Zealand.  Most of the time it has to do with someone looking to get the rights to do a film on one of the books.  I pass the request on and Maynard deals with it from that point on.

3/29/09

10 Responses to “”

  1. larrymartell59 Says:

    Looks like it’s working Cal. I’ve bookmarked it, and will certainly be checking back often. I discovered JDM through Carl Hiaasen (who I discovered through Dave Barry), but it was clearly meant to be. I’m from NYC, but I’ve spent a lot of time both in upstate NY and southeastern Florida. I love to read books that take place in an area that I’m familiar with.

    Speaking of movies, I’ve seen many of the film treatments of JDM’s works (Darker Than Amber, Condominium, Travis McGee, Linda, Cape Fear, The Girl The Gold Watch and Everything, and A Flash of Green) and to be honest, most of them really are not that great. The 1983 TV movie Travis McGee with Sam Elliott is probably the best, even thought the setting was moved to California, and the Busted Flush was not a barge/houseboat. I also liked A Flash of Green and Linda, but I didn’t care for the others that much. But being based on JDM’s works they were stll good to see. I’ve look to get to see Man Trap and Kona Coast, but I’ve haven’t been able to find them. I just read I Could Go On Singing, and although the movie isn’t based on the book (it’s the other way around) I’m still going to watch it.

  2. calbranche Says:

    Except for the original “Cape Fear,” with Robert Mitchum (he was perfect for that part) none of the films/tv you’ve listed have been very good, as you note. I showed “Empty Copper Sea” in my high school mystery classes, but it was not good. However, “A Flash of Green” was close to the book, and JDM acknowledged same ( and contributed 30,000 for the production).

    BTW, there may be a dvd release of the re-mastered Flash of Green sometime soon….I emceed a program last April on the film, and we were shown the re-mastered print. We had some of the production crew and one of the minor stars in attendance..

    I have tried, in vain, to download the Alfred Hitchcock series production of “Hangover,” with Tony Randall. I expect that may have been very good.

    I come from the Watertown area of N.Y. Born in Lowville, raised first in Beaver Falls, then LaFargeville, and finally Sandy Creek, I used to get a kick out of thinking there was a kind of metaphysical link between JDM and me, given that we would have been looking at almost the same sky (Piseco Lake and any of the towns listed, as the crow flies, were not that far apart–certainaly not in my imagination.

  3. larrymartell59 Says:

    Where did you try to download Hangover from?

  4. larrymartell59 Says:

    I just found it at: http://www.imdb.com/video/hulu/vi1574436889/
    I can watch it (but I don’t have time right now), but I haven’t figured out how to download it – still working on that.

  5. Rick Keeney Says:

    good to see this blog. i will be monitoring and perhaps commenting. i was googling JDM today because I found myself 108 pages into another Travis McGee adventure; this time A TAN AND SANDY SILENCE (my first was FREEFALL IN CRIMSON), and wanted to see if people were talking about JDM anywhere on the net. I’ve wanted to get into JDM for quite some times and have collected thirty or so titles, it was jut a matter of time. Many of my favorite writers and readers have praised JDM and pointed me in his direction. I’m truly glad to see that he is better than promised.

    hope to see you all soon.

    Rick

  6. Dearel Says:

    Cal, following your query as to my thoughts on your starting a blog, I received no reply to my response so was unaware that you had indeed started to blog on JDM. Congrats and good luck.

  7. Al Heineman Says:

    I am a long time fan of JDM and I was a sometime subcriber to The Bib so it’s great to find this website (I google JDM time to time just to see what’s new) I appreciate all of your work on the site.

    I’ve just been re-reading a couple McGee’s and I always seem to find something new or something I missed on first read (or second, as the case may be). I have certain record albums that I only listen to occasionally, so I don’t tire of them, but that I always go back to. JDM’s many stories are much the same for me.

    And on a random note, I was re-reading Pale Gray For Guilt and came across JDM’s description of the state of the auto industry circa 1968. It’s at the beginning of Chapter 2 and, with the current state of Detroit automakers, it could have been written last week. Amazing.

    Keep up the good work. I’ll be checking up on you often.

    Thank you,

  8. Ed M Says:

    I read a great deal of JDM’s work during eight years of residence in Saudi Arabia in the seventies and eighties. I remember making his acquaintance in the fall of 1978 picking up one of his McGee novels in a small library of some excellent paperbacks left behind by some guys in a villa in southwestern Riyadh.

    One of my all-time fave writers, JDM was a dude one fell in love with immediately as a reader, for his deeply spell-binding prose. When he died in late December of 1986 I felt a harsh loss as I thought of all the hours of pleasure I had derrived from this fascinating story-teller possessing an incomparable writing style that built such awesome Florida images in my mind which to this day remain so vividly and shockingly real.

    I just finished re-reading his sprell-binding novel CONDOMINIUM which I picked up on an impulse last month as I came across it again in the local library. The man’s relevance is intact and alive and he remains an awesome icon of American modern literature. I feel we will see a great revival of his idiom … an American prophet’s vision of the chickens which have now come home to roost.

    Glad you guys keep it up … thanks.

    Ed

  9. Noree Hart Says:

    As a relatively new JDM fan (five years), I am thrilled at the idea of being able to discuss his ideas, stories, characters, and style. I am happy to say that I turned my (now) 22 year old son on to JDM and his limited stow capacity on board the Denver is Sasebo, Japan is now dedicated to JDM trades. He only hopes that he can access JDM on Sony EBook, as his growing library stays in circulation…….a lot. JDM is speaking to all ages….

Leave a Reply

