As I have noted before the process for transcribing the World War 2 letters between JDM  and his wife, Dorothy, continues.  And will for some time to come–several months I am sure since some letters can take more than an hour to transcribe (Dorothy’s handwriting could be very small, and one needs a magnifying glass to determine words.  Be that as it may I am really enjoyng the task.

The reason for that is that there is another dimension to understanding an author in addition to the works themselves.  Family letters, photos (30,000 slides and 30,000 photos), and memories of those who knew the MacDonalds, all help fill out the portrait.  Even though the 3 biographies fell short (and we understand that another bio is due out this Fall) of giving us a complete picture they at least gave us some starting points.

My personal goal is to have looked at every item in the Collection –all 472 boxes.  Once that is done I may sit back and say:  “Ok, now you have completed that, you’ve read the books more than once, so what do you have?”  I don’t know what the answer will be.  Stay tuned.

One Response to “”

  1. larrymartell59 Says:

    I know what you’re doing is very hard work, but I’m jealous. You will end up knowing JDM better then anyone, and like you said, because of that you will have a much deeper understanding of his work. I laughed when I read your last paragraph – my wife is always asking me “So after you’ve read all this books, then what do you have?” She thinks I live my life like I’m a character in a JDM book. I’m not sure what her point is.

Leave a Reply

