JDM’s Influence

I will be moderating a panel of authors at the “Mystery To Die For” conference in Sarasota on June 6th. The topic is: “How has John D. MacDonald influenced Contemporary Authors?”

I wonder if any of you have any ideas, or authors, in mind whom you think have been influenced JDM? If so, I would love to hear from you.

I do know from personal experience that the majority of Florida mystery authors readily acknowledge a debt, and are not reticent about noting same.

One Response to “JDM’s Influence”

  1. Noree Hart Says:

    I learned of JDM through Spider Robinson (SciFi writer I became aware of through Robert Heinlein, whose last work Spider Robinson ventured to complete). Spider referenced JDM and complimented in the nicest way….by modeling Travis McGee in the Callahan series and including direct reference in his other novels.
    I can’t believe I didn’t learn of JDM until my 5th decade!!!!!

Leave a Reply

